The Oresteia Opera Project


The Oresteia Project is a multi-year enterprise by composer Andrew Earle Simpson and librettist Sarah Brown Ferrario which has set each of the three tragedies of Aeschylus' ancient Greek tragic trilogy, the Oresteia, as contemporary one-act operas.


Each opera of the series has its own website, where you can read libretti, watch and listen to performances, and explore the scholarly and artistic features of the Project.  The sites as a whole are always in development, with new content added periodically.  Click on the links below to learn more.


Click HERE to access a newly-published article on The Oresteia Project in Didaskalia.


Agamemnon (1999-2003)



The Libation Bearers (2001-04)



The Furies (2005-06)


Last Revised 17-Jan-07 02:35 PM.